Välkommen!

Hello and welcome to my shiny new blog, “The Fair Base Ballist.” I am pleased to have anybody grace this page- friends, strangers, spam robots, literate water buffalo, my mom… you are all welcome. Please sit down and enjoy a warm mug of webloggy cocoa.

My reasons for creating this here site are as follows:

  1. It is fun to create things of all sorts, including blogs.
  2. I really like writing about baseball.
  3. It is the off-season, and I am bored.
  4. Several other blogs/forums I have read lately have absolutely turned my stomach. I want to believe that it’s possible to intelligently, even entertainingly, express one’s opinions without constantly insulting innocent people.
  5. My opinions are kinda different, so why not put ’em out there?

To supplement that list, I feel it fair also to warn you, kind visitor, with the following assemblage of precautions. Just to let you know what you’re in for, and to let you know that I know what you’re in for.

  1. I am the most inconsistent person in the universe.
  2. I don’t always know what I’m talking about. Usually, but not always.
  3. I overuse adverbs. On the positive side, and unlike what seems like 97.6% of internet users, I know what an adverb is.
  4. I’m not too funny, but sometimes I try to be and it doesn’t work. I know. I’m sorry.
  5. I am an ardent Cubs fan and feel no shame. It’s a safe bet that I’ll be talking about my team a lot.
  6. While I did just scoff about insulting people, I can’t promise never to do so myself. Sometimes Tim McCarver, Joe Buck and their ilk just make it too easy. In general, however, it’s my policy not to say things about a man that you wouldn’t say in the presence of his grandmother or children. To make it easier on myself, I promise never to bring up Eric Byrnes.

Now that those things have been settled, my beautiful audience, I may tell you what you can expect to see here in the future. I have plans for some short essays and reviews, discussions of current baseball-related events… you will see some fascinating linkage, videos, photographs and interesting historical anecdotes. You may see some obscure pop-cultural references and random quotations about fruit as well (because fruit is good.) Baseball is my primary subject, but you never know when something completely unrelated might slip in. I’m flighty like that.

I’ll close this first post out with a quick explanation of my title-choice. Baseball games played by women enjoyed brief popularity late in the nineteenth century. These female ballplayers were referred to as “fair base ballists.” It isn’t that I play myself or anything. I just fancied the title due to its simple charm and antiquity.

P.S. No doubt you have noticed how annoyingly tiny this text is. There isn’t a way for me to make it bigger, so I recommend just zooming in on the page a bit. Just press CTRL++. To zoom back out, CTRL+-.

One thought on “Välkommen!

  1. Pingback: Baseball’s Greatest Mimbos: The Final Countdown « The Fair Base Ballist

Leave a Reply

