“To do then now would be retro. To do then then was very now-tro, if you will.”

Today’s topic is one of significant importance in my house… socks. Yes, socks. More specifically, how a baseball player chooses to wear his socks. Does he wear his pants with the hem down at the ankle to hide the sock, or just below the knee so as to display it? Down or up? I am here to tell you that UP (that is, socks showing) is the best way. There are many issues in the world of baseball that I feel strongly about and this is one of them.

Why am I pro-sock? First of all, I just find it to be a more aesthetically pleasing look. It is more distinguished and interesting. I even feel it makes the player look faster and more athletic. Second, it is reminiscent of the past. Everybody wore their socks up back in the day! In fact, there was a time when socks were of great enough importance to warrant teams naming themselves after them. White or Red Sox, anyone?

Earlier this week, I wrote about Vineline magazine’s minor league prospectus issue. The main feature had a photo with six of the Cubs’ top prospects together (Hak-Ju Lee, Kyler Burke, Brett Jackson, Starlin Castro, Josh Vitters, and DJ LeMahieu.) All six, I am delighted to inform you, are wearing their socks the correct way. The future looks good in Chicago, folks.

I also ought to mention stirrups, which are disturbingly rare these days. Can you name a single current major leaguer who wears real stirrups? Relief pitcher Aaron Heilman donned them for the Cubs last season, but that’s the only example that comes to my mind. A stirrup-trend descended upon New Market, Virginia, this past summer, with many of the Rebels opting to wear them. Bless those boys. It was a true  delight to see… isn’t it about time stirrups made a comeback?

Perhaps you, reader, consider the sock to be nothing more than a meaningless article of clothing. To me the sock is a vital component of a ballplayer’s attire. I champion the cause of the sock. I hope you’re with me.

5 thoughts on ““To do then now would be retro. To do then then was very now-tro, if you will.”

  1. Sorry, it just doesn’t work for me. i know it brings back the past, but they didn’t use to wear helmets back then either. And they left their gloves on the field.
    However, I’d rather see Lou in a suit, ala Casey Stengle, then in tight pinstriped pants.

Leave a Reply

