The Hot Wire Sandwich: “I don’t know how, but you’re gonna get me another sandwich. Or I’m gonna cut your face up so bad, you’ll have a chin. YOU’LL ALL HAVE CHINS!”

For those who are in the dark, Hot Wire Sandwich posts consist of little more than my inane commentary on a variety of current events.

-The Cubs have come to terms with all of their arbitration eligible players, save Ryan Theriot. Word has it that The Riot may end up going to a hearing, though I wish very much that this would not be the case. The two parties aren’t all that far apart (about 800k) and arbitration hearings are ugly things. I cannot fathom why the Cubs OR Ryan Theriot would want to let it go that far. I’d been hoping to the last that a settlement would be reached and I could quickly edit this paragraph to something more like, “Cubs agree to terms with all arb-eligible players!  Yayyy!!! Sunshine and lollipops!” Gah. I don’t like this one bit.

-In more agreeable news, Wrigley Field has been getting some touch-ups over the winter. David Kaplan can tell you the particulars. It all sounds lovely to me… I only wish I knew when I’d get to visit the Friendly Confines again to see these things for myself. *Tremulous sigh.*

-This is an outdated tidbit, but the Cubs did sign Kevin Millar to a minor league contract. Excuse me for not jumping up and down. Low-risk/low-reward signings are hard to get excited about.

-Did you hear the one about Milwaukee erecting a statue to honor Bud Selig? It sounds like a joke, but it ain’t.

-PITCHERS AND CATCHERS REPORT NEXT WEEK! At long last! College seasons are getting under way, as well. Be excited, my friends.

-The winter Olympics in Vancouver are about to begin! Bobsleds! Speed skating! Luge! Hockey! I’ll be watching, will you?

2 thoughts on “The Hot Wire Sandwich: “I don’t know how, but you’re gonna get me another sandwich. Or I’m gonna cut your face up so bad, you’ll have a chin. YOU’LL ALL HAVE CHINS!”

Leave a Reply

