Legen- wait for it… dary!

If you’re any kind of American, then you watched yesterday’s gold medal hockey game between Canada and the United States. If you missed it… well, shame on you! The game was everything an epic sporting event should be. Aside from the fact that we didn’t win, there was nothing more a fan could have asked for.

*Sniff*

I offer sincere congratulations to Canada (the team and the nation.) They earned it and you have to respect them. We would have been happy to win here in the U.S., but I don’t think our elation could possibly have equaled the Canadians. I also thought it was classy of the crowd to give a few of our players very nice ovations. Special congrats to Duncan Keith, Brent Seabrook, and everyone’s favorite Blackhawk, Jonathan Toews. Initially, I was angry that Sidney Crosby had to be the one to score the winning goal. However, I am starting to suspect that he is one of those athletes that opposing fans hate just because he is a great player and a proven winner. Like Derek Jeter… I can respect Mr. Crosby if this is the case (as a baby hockey fan, I just don’t know.)

Chicago boys

As for our home team… the darlings… I am still tremendously proud of those guys. They fought, and they made Team Canada really earn it. They played to win. It is going to stink so much not to have the likes of Zack Parise and Ryan Miller on my team anymore… those heart winners. I’d like to give ’em both a hug. Well, I’d like to give the whole team hugs. They have nothing to hang their heads over.  We’ll get ’em in 2014, you guys!

I would like to think that this game will turn more Americans on to hockey. It’s no baseball, of course… but it is certainly a worthy winter-time substitution.

A happy moment! I love that Canadian fan in the background, too.

Twitter was swimming with hockeyness yesterday afternoon, so I thought I’d leave you with a few selected tweets…

@OldHossRadbourn  Let us hope that this time the Canadian team conducts itself with good comportment, perhaps by quaffing some milk whilst playing Scrabble.

@cogz4Christ  Decided to stay and watch overtime and wish I didn’t. Canada got lucky and I’m late for church. Ha. Need to pray for priorities!  (It’s OK, Chris. I’m pretty sure God understands.)

@JesusNeedsNewPR  Don’t worry! America is still the country after God’s own heart. He just used Canada 2 teach USA humility! Obviously, Canada is our Egypt.

@cst_cubs  Dempster rolling in peanut butter thanks to sid the kid.

@MattAntonelli9   USA vs. CANADA series tied 1-1….whens game 3?  (Yeah, what about that?)

@mike_schaub  Good on you, Canada. Just don’t come begging for silver when the inevitable werewolf invasion starts. Cause we ain’t having it. (My favorite of the day.)

@bigleaguestew   On the bright side, this might’ve prevented the Blackhawks from giving Patrick Kane’s ego his own locker. (Ouch!)

@michael_schlact  Ok, I’m gonna need a glass of water and a chair. That game just shed 7.4 years off my life. I’m still proud to be an American! (Yep. Pretty sure I lost 10 pounds. And I was eating cherry pie during.)

@bradziegler   Not the same as our soldiers, but they used their God-given talent they’ve been given to fight for their country…have to respect that… (100% in agreement, here.)

4 thoughts on “Legen- wait for it… dary!

  1. Oh! This was such an amazing game! Excellent plays and blacks and shots by both sides! I was so excited when the US scored with 24 seconds left in the game to put make the game go to overtime! Excellent job by both teams! (Now back to the Blackhawks!)

    • You know, I’m almost relieved to be going back to regular season NHL games. If every game I watched was that intense and exciting, I think my life expectancy would be something like 24, max. 😉

  2. Haha! Yeah! I was kind of thinking the same thing…all games can be good and exciting, but not SUPER INTENSE! (Until you get to the playoffs, right?)

Leave a Reply

