Link-sational Monday!

Suit up! It’s link Monday!

The “Cubs Idol” finals were held on Saturday (click for the full scoop.) It probably isn’t a good sign that I was more excited to see who the winner of this competition would be than I am to see who will win the final spots on our bench and bullpen. Big FBB congrats to co-winners Justin Berg and Darwin Barney. It must have been one fine day for Mr. Berg, who was also awarded a roster spot Saturday.

-Our cross-town rivals have been doing some rocking out, as well. And Yahoo! has video footage.

The Trib’s Paul Sullivan had a pretty good write up on the changes the Cubs could be facing at season’s end. It’s a mite depressing, but makes me want to enjoy 2010 for all it’s worth.

-It’s proving to be a bad spring for AL Central closers. Joe Nathan will undergo Tommy John surgery, and Kerry Wood could miss the first two months of the season (sad face!) If I was Kansas City, I’d have Joakim Soria in a bubble.

Joseph Patrick Mauer and the Minnesota Twins have finally come to an agreement on an 8-year extension worth $184-million. If I made that much money, you can be sure there’d always be a jar of Nutella in my cupboard!

-So, who’s been watching college basketball? If your bracket done got busted, don’t worry about it. Have a good laugh and root for all the underdogs from here on out. I’m pulling for Northern Iowa all the way.

6 thoughts on “Link-sational Monday!

  1. “It’s proving to be a bad spring for AL Central closers. Joe Nathan will undergo Tommy John surgery, and Kerry Wood could miss the first two months of the season (sad face!) If I was Kansas City, I’d have Joakim Soria in a bubble.”

    -Amen to that!

    Kansas tried to kill my best bracket (I was in first place at the beginning of Saturday) but I have Syracuse winning it all on my other one. *crosses fingers* (I suppose that I could root for Northern Iowa if they lose. lol)

    Also, I am impressed with how well you drafted. I feel good about my rotation but not so much about catcher and 3rd base.

    • My bracket was pretty much destroyed by the end of Friday, but I didn’t have Kansas in the Final Four, so I’ll finish ahead of way more people than I would have. It was an ignorant decision that has sort of payed off.

      I wasn’t thrilled so much with my draft results… too many “I hope” players. As in, “I hope Zobrist will duplicate last year’s numbers,” and “I hope Elvis Andrus has a breakout season,” and “I hope Grady Sizemore and Carlos Zambrano bounce back…” All there is to do now is wait and see! : )

  2. Hmmmm I agree with you on Zobrist but Andrus and Sizemore will have excellent seasons (crystal ball power, gotta love it)! Although Zambrano is iffy, he usually has a good year in the end so I wouldn’t fret too much about him.

    • Z lost twenty-some pounds over the off-season and seems really determined on having a better year… so I’m hoping for good things. I’m just ready for the season to start…. like, yesterday.

  3. He lost 20 pounds? That is a very good sign. Obviously injuries were an issue last year with the entire team but the overall attitude was a problem too. Glad to see Bradley gone and Z in better spirits. Lots of stat-heads poo-poo team chemistry but I think that it is vital for a team to win. 15-18 W’s for Z?

    • 15-18 W’s for Z?

      That would be oh so nice!

      I agree about chemistry. It’s already looking better this year, by leaps and bounds. I have heard people complaining about it, actually. Too many happy, feel-good, teamy stories coming out. Haha…

Leave a Reply

