The Farmboy Files: Kyler Burke

Cubs gotcha down much? What better to do than look to the future!

I agonized over who to select for this week’s edition of “The Farmboy Files.” Intriguing candidates abound. I wasn’t really even considering Kyler Burke until I happened to notice that today, April 20, is his birthday. That was a good enough reason for me. Happy 22nd birthday, Kyler!Full Name: Kyler Brandon Burke

Basic Info: 6’3″, 205

Born April 20, 1988, in Chattanooga, TN.

B/T: L/L

Acquired via the 2007 midseason trade that sent Michael Barrett to the Padres.

Stats: In 11 games thus far in Daytona this season, Kyler is batting .163 with 2 doubles, 4 runs, and 3 RBI. To see his career statistics, click here.

Kyler had a breakout year in 2009 and earned himself the distinction of the Cubs minor league Player of the Year. He batted .303 with 15 home runs and 89 RBI. What is more (and straight out of the “How To Win Lizzy’s Heart 101” textbook) he registered 43 doubles and a .405 on-base percentage.

From the horse’s mouth:

On being traded to the Cubs in ’07- “Right away, before I knew all that was going on, I felt the Padres gave up on me. I was 19 at the time, and I didn’t know what was going on. I was shellshocked.”

On being named Cubs minor league Player of the Year– “It was actually the day after we got put out of the play-offs. I missed the call, and [VP of player personnel Oneri Fleita] left a message to call him. I thought, ‘What have I done now?’ ”

On his breakout season– “There was a trend for a while like it seemed all I was doing was hitting doubles. I was driving the ball into the gaps pretty well. I tried not to do too much and let my ability take over.”

Scouting Report: Kyler is built like a linebacker. He has excellent defensive skills in the outfield and a cannon for an arm. He is tops in the farm system in plate discapline, clutch hitting, OF arm strength, and throwing accuracy.

Anonymous organizational brass says:

“[His] arm is a weapon, and clubs stop running when the ball is hit to him.”

“Governmental-level assassin. Can one-hop you on the money with the best. Intimidates third-base coaches.”

Video! There is a great selection of  videos of Kyler on YouTube, courtesy a user who would appear to be his brother (Thank you, Kevin Burke.) For some reason, it is not letting me embed the clips right here, but I recommend checking one or two out just the same.

Here is footage of Kyler hitting a grand-slam.

And here is Kyler making a great sliding catch in foul territory.


Leave a Reply

