“When, like the swallow, spring’s own bird, Shall my faint twittering notes be heard?”

Author’s Note: This ought to have been posted yesterday or the day before. The subject isn’t as fresh as it was when I wrote the piece. I just wanted you to know that I know.

I’ve had some silly, pointless, and/or dated posts lately. Today I’m trying to be a bit more current (Author’s note: OH, THE IRONY!) Y’know, to prove that I’m still hip with what’s going down, yo! (You can see by my modern lingo that I am still “streets ahead,” yes?)

To the topic at hand…

It became general knowledge earlier this week that Major League Baseball is putting a noose around the necks of its Twitter users. I don’t know the full extent of what is being done, just that MLB.com reporters are no longer permitted to tweet on topics other than baseball, and that players have been reprimanded and are being “closely monitored.”

I don’t know exactly what it is that inspired these censures, but I do not like them one bit. I don’t know of anyone who does. If MLB is trying to suck the life and color out of its personnel, then Bravo! This is a giant leap forward in that direction! Boring, sterile tweets for all baseball fans, YAY!
One of the main reasons this perplexes me is that I do not see the cause for it. It looks to me as if MLB is trying to sanitize Twitter accounts that really aren’t in need of sanitizing. I suppose there could be some problematic individuals lurking about that I’m not aware of. But, then,  if individuals are the problem why not just deal with the individuals instead of putting a muzzle on everybody? Or here’s a revolutionary thought! Why not let the fans decide for themselves?! If we don’t like what someone has to say, we won’t follow them.

Example: I un-followed pitcher Mike Bacsik recently after he went on quite a little Twitter rant about his favorite basketball team. It wasn’t that I was offended by what he said so much as I was annoyed by the volume of tweets (besides which I don’t give two hoots about the NBA.) I’m fine with the man saying what he wants and expressing himself as he pleases. I un-followed him because what he said was not interesting or appealing to me. What is wrong with the system working this way, MLB?

I love the fact that fans can have more of a connection to the writers and players through mediums like Twitter. I don’t know what Major League Baseball has against this. If this new censorship effort succeeds in removing the personality and fun from MLB Tweeters, we’ll all have another reason to be very put out with them. Baseball players are the reason I joined the service to begin with… Heaven help us should they all become like Nick Swisher.

BIG (League) BROTHER IS WATCHING YOU.

2 thoughts on ““When, like the swallow, spring’s own bird, Shall my faint twittering notes be heard?”

  1. MLB clarified yesterday that the Twitter guidance only applied to their people-not the players or anyone else. Really the rules are not any different than what many organizations have enforced in regards to social networking. They are trying to protect their brand image, and don’t want employees going off on topics that may reflect negatively on MLB.

    • Aha! Thank you for this clarifying comment… I only saw the initial reports, which seem to have been greatly exaggerated.

      I am going to go ahead and blame my lack of research on my computerlessness yesterday (because I’m responsible like that.)

Leave a Reply

