Week Six In Review

Week six (and perhaps a bit from week five) of the major league season: In which the ‘L’ flag flew too often, Dallas Braden made my mom cry, and the first managerial firing of the season went down.

Around the majors…

Heartwarming story of the week (year?): Dallas Braden’s perfect game on Mother’s Day was about as moving as they come.

Coolest pitching performance besides Braden’s perfecto: Jamie Moyer’s 2-hit complete game shutout against the Braves. I get such a kick out of Mr. Moyer. I’m also giving him…

The Quote of the Week: “Really? Cool.” (Jamie Moyer’s reaction to being told he’s the oldest pitcher to hurl a shutout.)

Outstanding Journalism: The Onion. Of course, this prize could go to them pretty much every single week.

Busted: Phillies bullpen coach Mick Billmeyer (great name there) was caught looking through binoculars from the ‘pen in a game against the Rockies. The Phils have said that he wasn’t trying to steal signs. So what was he doing, hm?

Curtains!: Kansas City’s Trey Hillman became the 2010 season’s first managerial casualty yesterday.

As for the Cubs…

Superhero of the Week: I wish this week had a superhero. I really, really do.

Kitten Eaters of the Week: All the hitters who failed to come through when it counted.

Pats on the back for: Randy Wells. His unflinching honesty in reflecting on his horrid start in Pittsburgh was more refreshing than a cool glass of lemonade on the Fourth of July…

“It’s terrible,” Wells said. “Unacceptable. Everything I’ve ever preached about why I’m successful, what I do to be successful, I totally got away from.
“I came in too cocky, too confident,” he said. “Warming up in the bullpen, I don’t think I missed a pitch. I’m laughing, joking around with [Geovany Soto] before the game. I went out there and was all out of whack and let it get out of hand.
“When we needed a win the most to stop the bleeding, I got lackadaisical, wasn’t on top of my game and shoved it up my [rear end],” he said.
“That’s pretty much all that happened,” Wells said. “I can’t throw strikes with the fastball, can’t get ahead of hitters. You’re flipping [bad] sliders in there, and not throwing strikes with your best pitch, which is your changeup, and that’s the kind of stuff that happens. It’s time to get back to work and have a reality check and realize what my job is here and what my main focus is and that’s to win ballgames.
“All that other [nonsense], [being] 3-0 and pitching for the Chicago Cubs doesn’t mean [anything],” he said. “I’m here to win ballgames. As far as I’m concerned after tonight, I’m no better than anybody. It’s time to get back to work and have a good side.”

Funny photos of the Week:

*Giggles*

I feel there must be a “LOST” connection here.

Headed in the right direction: Call me crazy, but I feel that the whole team will get on the right track before long. For one thing, you can’t lose ’em all. For another, when you have so many guys performing well individually, eventually it’s gotta translate into some wins. Right???

One thought on “Week Six In Review

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Week Six In Review « The Fair Base Ballist -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

