Cooking… the Cubbie Way!

I knew I had to have the Chicago Cubs Cookbook as soon as I heard of its existence and saw the front cover image. I am no great chef, but I knew this thing needed to have a special place in my kitchen… right next to the Star Wars cookbook. (I highly recommend that all Cubs fans buy a copy. And you don’t have to feel hesitant about buying something frivolous for yourself… all proceeds from the book’s sales go to the Dempster Family Foundation. Hurray for good causes!)

Last week I watched the movie “Julie & Julia,” about a woman who cooks her way through the Julia Child cookbook in a year while blogging about the experience. I thought it would be funny if I did the same thing with the Cubs cookbook… I’m not actually going to, but I figured I could at least sample a few recipes and share the outcomes with my readers. It could be interesting. And I mean like Carlos Marmol in the bottom of the ninth with a one run lead interesting.

There were a lot of fun alliterative title options I could have chosen for this post, but I decided “Cooking the Cubbie Way” was most appropriate. Because I’m about as good at cooking as the Cubs are at baseball. Zing. But, hey… there’s nothing like a little practice to improve one’s skills.

I made French toast for my breakfast one morning last week, and decided to use a variation that is found in the Cubs cookbook (this one doesn’t seem to be connected with a player or coach, so I don’t know what it’s doing in there, but it still looked good.) You can’t really mess up French toast, so this seemed a good place to start. There was nothing revolutionary about the preparation, but I’ll tell you what… that was some of the best French toast I ever had. I think using a nicer quality bread is the key. Scrumptious.

I also whipped up some pasta for dinner on Tuesday, following the lead of a recipe from bullpen catcher Corey Miller. I used fettucine instead of bowtie pasta, and made my own sauce instead of something from the store. It turned out pretty well…  I took a picture to prove it, you see:
The peas all sunk to the bottom, but they’re there.

I will leave you today with the recipe for my garlic butter white sauce. It is a lovely compliment to pasta of all shapes and sizes. Yum!

Ingredients
1/3 C butter
1 Clove crushed garlic
1/4 T dried basil
2 t dried oregano
1 1/2 C milk
1 T flour
Salt & pepper to taste (if you wish)

In a small saucepan, melt the butter. Add garlic and sautee until cooked. Stir in herbs. Add milk, flour, salt and pepper. If the sauce is too thick or thin, add a little more milk or flour as needed. Serve ASAP.

~

Keep tuning in for more “Cooking… the Cubbie Way!”

3 thoughts on “Cooking… the Cubbie Way!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Cooking… the Cubbie Way! « The Fair Base Ballist -- Topsy.com

  2. So that’s where your motivation to cook dinner came from! The pasta was yummy! We’ll happily be your Cooking the Cubbie Way guinea pigs any time!

Leave a Reply

