Cooking… the Cubbie Way! Pt. II

My adventures in the kitchen with The Chicago Cubs Cookbook continued last week, with varying degrees of success. Charged with making dinner for the family on Thursday (or was it Wednesday?) I turned to the trusty Cubs cookbook and selected a not-complicated looking chicken-broccoli casserole recipe which had been provided by Tyler Colvin and his fiancee. Tyler was on the mind anyway, after his scary season-ending accident, so it seemed appropriate to choose his recipe.

I was disappointed with how the casserole turned out, but I think it would come out better if I were to try it again. In fact, I know it would, now that I have experience on my side. Using broccoli florets that have not thorougly thawed will, I now realize, make your dish a bit watery. Let that chicken and broccoli thaw all the way!

Because there were no cans of cream of chicken soup in the cupboards (and because I am forever complicating simple things) I decided to make my own from scratch. It worked perfectly fine, but was rather bland I think (I didn’t bother to taste it) because the finished casserole did not have a lot of taste. This would be quite easily remedied by adding a bit of salt to the home-made soup mixture. Looking at it in a positive light, I’m sure that the scratch-version is a lot healthier than the canned. I wouldn’t hesitate to use the recipe again. Here it is, if you are interested:

3 T flour
3 T oil or butter
1 C milk
1 t poulty seasoning
*Salt to taste*

Heat oil/butter over low heat (if using butter, make sure it is all the way melted.) Add flour and poultry seasoning. Stir with a whisk or fork until well blended. Add milk and stir well. Cook over low/medium heat for 5-10 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat and let sit for several minutes. Equals one 10 oz. can of condensed soup.

~

Overall, I would call the dish a success. As you can see, there wasn’t much left over.

Over the weekend, I also tried out Micah Hoffpauir’s grandmother’s recipe for blonde brownies. I have no complaints whatever about the results. I used dark brown sugar instead of regular, so they weren’t the blondest blondies. I wouldn’t go so far as to call them “brunetties,” but they were at least “dirty blondies.” One thing is for sure… they were tasty. Next time I think I will be forced to double the recipe.

Bon Appetite!

2 thoughts on “Cooking… the Cubbie Way! Pt. II

Leave a Reply

