Welcome To Chicago: David DeJesus

I guess we can go ahead and hang a “No Vacancy” sign in right field at Wrigley. The Cubs have announced the signing of David DeJesus, 31, to a two-year $10MM deal (with a club option for 2014.)

I find myself pleased that this deal caught me unawares… no days of drawn out speculation, no string of MLBtraderumors.com posts, no supposed experts tweeting inconclusive bits of “inside information” from mystery sources. None ‘a that, just wham! Deal done. I approve. And I find nothing to reproach in the acquisition itself, either. Popular opinion seems to be that David will be a good fit. Coming from Cubs nation (we who tend to err on the side of skepticism) that says something.

And so I say, welcome to the North Side of Chicago, Mr. DeJesus. Please come on in and make yourself comfortable.

2 thoughts on “Welcome To Chicago: David DeJesus

Leave a Reply

