Spring rolls on…

The petri dish of preparation and experimentation that is Spring Training is drawing nearer to its end. I’m not celebrating yet, but I do have my party hat and noisemakers where I can reach them. Because, while spring camp is always fun at first, eventually it becomes like an exciting movie trailer that you’ve seen too many times. I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m ready for the full-length feature.

Here are a few more springy notes. They will likely be the last of 2012. (I know… yay!)
No room in the inn: Brett Jackson, who has pretty much mopped up in the Cactus League this year, will start the 2012 regular season in triple-A. Not because he isn’t big league ready, but because there just isn’t a place to squeese him in on the Cubs 25-man roster.  Somebody pointed out that this is like discarding a $100 bill because your wallet is filled with $1’s and there isn’t room for it. I can’t think of a better analogy.

The situation is hardly worth pouting over, though. We all know that we’ll be seeing Brett in Chicago before long.


Jeff Samardzija, SP: If you had asked me a month ago, I likely would have proclaimed that Jeff Baker had a better chance of earning a spot in the Cubs starting rotation than Jeff Samardzija. Then I totally would have downplayed the sass of the remark by saying that I meant it more as a compliment to the versatile Jeff B. than an insult to Jeff S.

But I digress. Here we are in late March with Smarj now looking to be a shoo-in for a starting roll. And no-one can say he hasn’t done anything to earn it. I certainly hope he’ll keep up the good work… it warms my heart to see a player transform from kitten-eater to winner. I’d like to state here and now, however, that that no matter how productive Jeff may continue to be, I reserve the right to laugh at/criticize his long flowing locks and sketchy facial hair.
Catcher V. Catcher: Welington Castillo and Steve Clevenger are battling for the back-up catcher’s position and it looks like the contest will go down to the wire. I’m just happy it won’t be Koyie Hill anymore. Not because I didn’t like Koyie Hill. I was fond of him, as has been well documented. But it will be really nice not to have to listen to everyone else complain about him for a change.

Bunting Tourney Final: The unexpectedly entertaining ride that was the Chicago Cubs spring bunting tournament came to a conclusion last week. Casey Coleman represented the pitchers and David DeJesus the position players in the final, with the latter coming out on top.

Congrats, David. My expectations for your regular season in-game bunting skills is now unreasonably high.

Joe Mather: Actually has a shot at making the team. How ’bout that?

Dave Sappelt: Is it just me, or does Dave totally look like some sort of batting helmet model in this photo?

One thought on “Spring rolls on…

  1. 🙂 Counting down the days ’til April 5th! I’m ready for it! Especially with all this lovely weather we’ve had. I can’t wait to hear, “The Chicago Cubs are on the air!” (I’m actually getting together with a fellow Cubs fan and family for Opening Day! Wish you could be here to share in the fun!)

Leave a Reply

