London Summer Olympics: A Prelude

The 2012 London Summer Olympics kick off tomorrow night and, in case you were wondering, I am one of those citizens who gets extremely excited over them. Really. If loving the Olympics were an Olympic event, I’d be a medal contender. I love seeing the people of the world come together. I love being bombarded with the music and fanfare. I love watching the best-of-the-best athletes compete in such a vast array of sports. I love knowing that there will be something worth watching on the telly almost 24/7. Every two years I get totally sucked in, and then go through withdrawal when the events conclude.
Here are my pre-Olympic thoughts, for your perusal and critique.

David Tennant: torch bearer? If this man doesn’t carry the Olympic flame at one point or another, I will be bitterly disappointed. More importantly, if this man doesn’t carry the Olympic flame at one point or another, time and space itself may be torn asunder.

Events to anticipate: Swimming, diving, and gymnastics tend to be my favorites in the summer games.

Events I don’t mind if I miss: Track and field stuff. I know what you’re thinking. Who doesn’t like watching fast people running and all that? The sad answer is: me.

-Events I’ll scratch my head at: Trampoline (I actually had no idea that this was an Olympic event until this year), table tennis, badminton, sailing. Personally, I’ve always wished that tether-ball was an Olympic sport. And if badminton is allowed, I don’t see why it shouldn’t be.
-It seems like there’s always  one event (or at least one game in one event) that doesn’t seem that exciting, but I’ll end up catching it once or twice and getting totally absorbed. For instance, in 2004 it was a single men’s basketball game (the gold medal game, I think). Argentina won, and for some reason I was really, really moved by the whole thing. I don’t even remember why, but it was just fantastic.
What’ll it be this year? I can’t wait to find out.

-The mascot for this Olympics is a one-eyed creature called Wenlock. Err… creepy.

Hi, I’m Wenlock. I have no depth perception and I steal the children of London out of their beds at night (not unlike the wicked giants in Roald Dahl’s classic book, The BFG)!

Underdogs: Is it unpatriotic to root for countries besides my own? I’m inclined to believe it isn’t. In fact, I’d almost go so far as to say that rooting for the little nations, the ones with very few athletes represented and slim chance of walking away with even one medal, is actually very American. But whether it is or not, I can’t help pulling for the underdogs. Which is why Angola’s women’s basketball team and Montenegro’s men’s water polo team have my full support.

How about it, readers? What are your thoughts on these coming events?

3 thoughts on “London Summer Olympics: A Prelude

  1. I am also an Olympic spectator of medal-worthy ability!!!! And I played competitive badminton AND tether-ball–totally agree with your assessment. Let the games begin!

  2. I love the Olympics, imagine that! 🙂 I also love the gymnastics (*achem* again, imagine that), and diving. Swimming is up there too. And there is always the random sport that ends up catching my attention…like kayaking/whitewater canoeing (I forget what it’s called). Trampoline has actually been in the Olympics since 2000, and is quite interesting! Agree with the track and field, eh, I could take it or leave it. And as for the underdogs… 🙂 And the athletes that get incredibly excited about whatever place they end up getting… 🙂 That’s what it should be like! (Okay, stepping off my soapbox…)

Leave a Reply

