The Traditional Thanksgiving Post

It has been nearly a month since my last post, which is sad. The fact that interesting things have happened in baseball during that period makes it even sadder. And you want more sadderer (besides my grammar)? I’ve tried to patch together a meager post or two during this period of time, but they’ve all wound up half-finished and unused. The only excuse I can offer for all this is that life has been on the topsy-turvy side, and that my writing efforts have been pointed in a different direction as of late. Usually I enjoy blogging in the offseason more than when baseball is actually going on, but this may not be one of those years.

The reason I have come back now is because it’s Thanksgiving, which is one of the greatest holidays in history. I always feel obliged to write something for Thanksgiving. It’s such a happy time. Sharing and caring. Love and warmth. … Thanks… and … giving. Sentence fragments. Thanksgiving is full of goodness, all around.

What is more, it is giving me the ideal opportunity to play catch-up with all the baseball stuff I’ve not written about for the past month or so. It might be a cheap way of doing it, but that’s OK. I’m a very cheap person.

NOW, as is my usual way, I present you with a rather random list of things for which I feel grateful. Please feel free to contribute your own in the comments section.

This year, I am thankful for…
Darwin Barney and his Gold Glove award. I want to, like, throw a parade for this guy. All out. Line the streets, throw flower petals, play tambourines, dance spontaneously… the whole nine yards. Watching his defensive play was one of the few things made tuning into Cubs games worthwhile in 2012.

Bob Brenly. The Cubs TV color-man of the past 8 years recently announced that he would be abandoning us for Arizona. You can’t blame him. He has connections there. Besides which games in Phoenix hardly ever get snowed out in April. But we will miss Bob. His commentary was always palatable (for lack of a better word) and shall not be soon forgotten. Happy trails, BB.

New family members. There are at least two new additions since last year. We’ve suffered some losses as well, but the love has only grown. I am profoundly thankful for all my family.
The ability to create. I have been considering lately what a gift this is. We have been provided with SO many outlets for creativity… whether it’s writing a blog, or sewing, or fingerpainting, or origami, or whittling, or cooking, or photography. It’s a wonderful thing.

Space. Not outerspace, although I like imagining the possibilities there. I mean the much smaller space in which I live. I have space to myself now that I didn’t use to have. Closet space and bookshelf space and floorspace. It is glorious.

The good old U.S. of A. I am sure there were many little storms of stinkery swirling around before, during and after this year’s election. I didn’t pay attention, but I know there were. There always are. Despite this, I am quite thankful to live in a country that gives me and everyone else a say in things.

Spotify. Because I can’t afford to pay thirty bucks for Sufjan Stevens’ new Christmas album box set. And for allowing me to indulge my inner nerd by listening to nothing but classical music and film scores for hours on end.

Homemade Bread. Noodles. Gravy. Autumn Wheat cereal. Curry. Soup. Mild white cheeses. Apple sauce. Dill. Chocolate covered Ritz with peanut butter. Tamagoyaki. Grape Nuts heated up. Hot chocolate. And food in general. I like food.

The baseball turkey. He’s last, but he certainly isn’t least.

Happy Thanksgiving, readers!

3 thoughts on “The Traditional Thanksgiving Post

  1. I am thankful for your return to blogging! I get my baseball fill here and wander over to the food blog to see what you’ve been up to in the kitchen. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving and keep the posts coming.

  2. I am thankful for many of the same things you are! But I must say that I (and our little addition 😉 ) would come to your Darwin Barney parade. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving! And glad to have you back too.

Leave a Reply

